Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to calculate total pressure drop (inlet - outlet) of 3D ventilation model, CFD turbulent flow?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear Comsol experts,

I am a novice in comsol 3D and would appreciate some help in post processing my results - calculating the total pressure drop (3D) of my model.
I have made a simplified 3D model of a ventilation system, consisting of an inlet "fan", a damper, a chamber and a vertical shaft with an outlet. I am using the CFD module with Turbulent flow k-[epsilon]. I have set an inlet velocity in 22 m/s and an outlet pressure in 0 Pa. Is there any way to calculate the total pressure drop from the inlet to the outlet? I am altering some "physical" dimensions (e.g. angles of dampers/doors) and would like to see their impact on the total pressure drop of my system.

Please see the attached pdf for explanation, images and values. The comsol-file including the results are approx 80 Mb, hence I attached only the pdf.

I hope someone can assist me? It would be very much appreciated.

Regards Morten

5 Replies Last Post Feb 3, 2016, 2:30 a.m. EST

Posted: 10 years ago May 6, 2014, 5:56 a.m. EDT
Hi,

In the Results section, go to the Derived Values tab, right click it and select Surface Average, then select the inlet surface and in the Expression line type p (for pressure), the result from the averaging minus the outlet pressure (zero in your case) will give you the total pressure drop between inlet and outlet.

Cheers