Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Radar cross section calculation problem

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am new to COMSOL and I want to find the radar cross section of a simple cylindrical structure. I found an example in the models (www.comsol.com/showroom/documentation/model/8613/) but I could not transform it into my desire simulation. My structure is a lossy dielectric cylinder and I want to find both its far field and near field scattering fields. In the model example, there is a perfect conductor (boat) in the middle of the simulation window and the boat is used as a "general extrusion". The name of this extrusion area is "back" and the RCS is calculated as [4*pi*(back(Efarz(x,y)))^2].

---what is general extrusion and how can it be useful for far field calculation? It is mentioned that the field will be calculated at points (x*cos(phi),x*sin(phi)). What is x in this relation?

---In the case of a lossy dielectric cylinder, do I require to define a boundary (Impedance matching boundary) around the desired dielectric cylinder?

---Which one is better and more accurate: cylindrical PML or cubic PML? How thick should it be? How far should it be from the object?

---What is far field calculation, which is used in the boundary of the boat? Should it be always at the boundary of the desired structure? In the case of dielectric object what should I do?

--- In the case of half space dielectric object, PML should include both the air and the half space dielectric. What is your suggestion for that?

Thanks for your help in advance.

3 Replies Last Post Feb 29, 2012, 2:41 p.m. EST
COMSOL Moderator

Hello COMSOLoholic