Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

What is equivalent to "Global Expression" and "Subdomain Expression" in COMSOL v4.2?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am a student working on FEA modeling of smart materials. A previous student in my lab set up a COMSOL model in v3.5, but now I'm trying to update it to v4.2.

1) In my PDEs, uX, uY, and uZ which are the displacements in each direction are defined as dependent variables. But I want to define another variable SXX = uXx, which is the strain along x direction. In v3.5, SXX = uXx is defined in "Global Expression", but where to define it in v4.2?
I tried the "variable" in v4.2, but it said uXx is unknown...

2) In my PDEs, the expression of my weak form is the same for each subdomain, for example: "-HX*test(uX)". However, the values of HX are different in every subdomain. For example, in subdomain 1, HX = 1; in subdomain 2, HX = 2; in subdomain 3, HX is calculated from a matlab function...
In COMSOL v3.5, I just defined different HX for each subdomain in "subdomain expression", but how to do it in v4.2.

I am just a beginner in COMSOL, Thank you very much for your help.

Dan

2 Replies Last Post Feb 29, 2012, 9:03 p.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 29, 2012, 4:16 p.m. EST
Hi

it's much the same, a few things has changed place ;)