Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

a Voltage Divider simulation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hiya, My name is Leonardo Camargo and I’m a Electrical Engineering student. Currently I´m using de 4.1 version of Comsol to simulate a band-width Voltage Divider and I must to calculate their STRAY CAPACITANCES. The Divider must to reduce the Amplitude of a Lightning Impulse to measure it on a oscilloscope.

I already made the geometry completely and added the rest of items to make the wave shape, Even I prove the circuit in other file that works so well but I cannot connect it to the voltage Divider Model.

I have attached both Files:

-The first one is the simulation of the lightning Impulse
-The second one is the file where I´ve been making the geometry for the voltage divider

PD:I forgot to write down that there is other problem because the program cannot mesh the resistor, Even if I choose a finer mesh
Please Help me out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 Replies Last Post Feb 16, 2011, 10:06 a.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 16, 2011, 2:31 a.m. EST
Hi

the lazy reply I would say, if you look at your pulse in a lin-log scale, you could reproduce it rather simply by some analytical function to feed into the 2nd model

Next approach, you fill a "table" from the first simulation and use that as the V function over time

3rd you couple both by using "mod1.cir.C2_v" as input, and check that you separate the combine solving into two segregated steps

Concerning your model a general comment is that sharp edges/corners are singularities in ACDC and induce breakdowns in reality, it would be better to use "tubes" than square section wires