Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to create a mesh from a .mph file containing a bunch of points

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi there,

I am new to COMSOL. I have managed to load a data set which is a set of node points in 3D. I would like to make a mesh using these discrete node points. But I do not know how. I searched everywhere and read pages of COMSOL help manuals but nothing seem to be too helpful.

Can anyone please help me out. I really have a deadline to meet and I have exhausted all my patient and energy trying to do this thing.

So a quick response to this problem from an experienced user would be gratefully appreciated.

I am using COMSOL 3.5a

Thanks

Arefin

5 Replies Last Post Nov 29, 2010, 1:32 a.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 27, 2010, 4:50 a.m. EST
Hi

COMSOL does NOT use meshes as "geometry".
To be able to do multiphysics in a concise way COMSOL relies on:
1) geometrical Objects (your CAD model) and tranforms these into
2) Entities geoemtrical items called domains, boundaries , edges and points for a 3D model (see the doc)
3) Then you apply physics and boundary conditions on the domains and the boundary ENTITIES
4) you define also the shape functions on the entities, these define the number of intermediates nodes you will later use when analysing your elemetns (the methodoligy is subtily different from from traditional tools)
5) then you mesh and create elements and nodes, which heritate thei resective properties from the entities they are contained in or the boundaries they touch.
6) you solve with one or several of the numerous solvers
7) you postprocess an display your results