Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

No convergence in the parametric sweep for all parameters

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear all,

I’m writing about the parametric sweep.

I’m simulating the flow field in a 2D porous media. My domain has size about 0.5 µm and there are many small flow channel (about 0.0005 µm).
I’m studying the flow field changing the input flow velocity, using the parametric sweep in order to study the pressure drop vs. input velocity.

Comsol can’t solve the flow field for high-speed ( 10 m/s) and even decreasing the relative tolerance it approaches the desired speed (but does not reach it), but the computation takes a lot of time ( 5 days).

Is it possible, in order to speed up the calculation, to use the flow field relative to the previous simulation as initial condition for the next value of inlet velocity in the parametric sweep?

Or it is possible to use the results of a model as initial conditions for another model file?

I also noticed, in the progress window, that, during the calculation (using the parametric sweep), Comsol uses also values of inlet velocity that I didn’t specify in the vector definition of V (inlet velocity) in the parametric sweep section, but at the end it gives me the solutions only for the specified values of the parameter (V). Why? Is it possible to avoid this in order to speed up the calculation?

Thanks a lot for your help.
Best Regards,

Francesca Messina

2 Replies Last Post May 30, 2012, 4:16 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago May 29, 2012, 1:54 p.m. EDT
Hi

you have 2 types of paremeter sweep solver sequences: