Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

effect of temperature on the eigenfrequency

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

HI EVERYBODY

I'm new in Comsol and i would now how physics are used for simulate the effect of temperature on the eigenfrequency

the model is given

thanks for your help

5 Replies Last Post May 29, 2012, 2:47 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago May 11, 2012, 5:51 a.m. EDT
Hi

it's not obvious to understand which influence you are looking for, your solid MEMS structure is in some air I see (you should not define air as "solid" as the corresponding material properties are not there, or you define something reasonnable: E=1/3 ambient pressure, nu= 0 and rho = 1 kg/m^2.

Eigenfrequency changes comes from i.e. stress buildup in your material due to thermal expansion, material property variations due to the temperature change, and in your case coupling with air that also has its "material" properties changing with the temperature

The easiest us to use coupled physics, pre-cooked by COMSOL, such as FSI and other combinations as you need T, u, U, p, or you need to mix up sourself.

I would still propose to start "simple" just in structural or TS thermal stress, forget first the air, get the model vibrating within the solid physics and see the effect of T, then you could consider the air load simply from the amplitude and air density as a surface virtual mass load.

Then you make a separate FSI model and see how the frequency changes with the air density (withot any T, or just a T in the air for controlling the air properties.