Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Time dependent potential

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hai, I am fairly new to COMSOL. I have been trying to add a time dependent potential to my model. That is, I need the potential to be, say, 10V from 0 second to 5 second and then become 20V from 5s to 10s. Then solve it in time dependent solver for the total time. How to add such a time dependent potential in COMSOL? Any help on this matter is appreciated, thanks.

10 Replies Last Post Jul 6, 2020, 12:10 p.m. EDT

Posted: 4 years ago Jul 3, 2020, 5:54 a.m. EDT

Hi Harris,

I assume that by time-dependent potential you mean that you are applying a voltage as a boundary condition of your model, and that you have a working model to simulate the stationnary conditions.

In that case, in the field where you normally set the applied voltage, simply write whatever time-dependent expression, using the built-in variable t. This variable can only be accessed in time dependent studies.

You can also define a variable Va_t to write this expression, and type Va_t in the field for the applied voltage. Because the variable t is defined at the component level, you can not do this using global parameters, you must use component-level variables.