Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Rosen-type piezo transformmer simulation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I'm trying to simulate a rectangular Rosen-type piezo transformer using the MEMS module.

Since the input and output parts are differently polarized, does it have to be treated as two different entities or just the coordinate axis settings have to be different for both?
Also can the transformer body be assumed free with just terminal and ground applied to the input upper and lower surfaces and output surface with floating potential? Do the I/O terminals have to be assigned metallic properties (for eg. Aluminium)?

I am quite new to COMSOL and would really appreciate some guidelines.

Thank you.
Sneha

5 Replies Last Post Apr 1, 2012, 5:37 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 24, 2011, 3:54 a.m. EST
Hi

You need to add a specific material property per PZT orientation, and within that node you can use a pre-define the coordinate frame the most appropriate

You can apply the voltage to the boundaries as constants without modelling the conductor layer (to start with, depends on their influence, mas, stiffness ...

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi You need to add a specific material property per PZT orientation, and within that node you can use a pre-define the coordinate frame the most appropriate You can apply the voltage to the boundaries as constants without modelling the conductor layer (to start with, depends on their influence, mas, stiffness ... -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago Mar 6, 2012, 11:29 a.m. EST
Hello,

Thanks for your inputs.