Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Resistance too high using frequency domain

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, I am new in Comsol and I am trying to realize a model of a common mode choke. My problem is that during the frequency study in order to calculate the losses of the ferromagnetic core I find a really high resistance of the coils (order of MegaOhm), so I find a really low magnetic field and a really low power. Someone can help me to find the solution? Thanks.

4 Replies Last Post Jul 23, 2019, 12:55 p.m. EDT

Posted: 5 years ago Jul 22, 2019, 8:56 a.m. EDT
Updated: 5 years ago Jul 22, 2019, 8:46 a.m. EDT

It would be better if you posted your file. You may get a better response.

It would be better if you posted your file. You may get a better response.

Posted: 5 years ago Jul 23, 2019, 8:26 a.m. EDT
Updated: 5 years ago Jul 23, 2019, 8:24 a.m. EDT

Sorry, I send the file with cleaned results to reduce the file size. My goal is to study the model in frequency domain. Thank you for helping me

Sorry, I send the file with cleaned results to reduce the file size. My goal is to study the model in frequency domain. Thank you for helping me

Posted: 5 years ago Jul 23, 2019, 9:38 a.m. EDT
Updated: 5 years ago Jul 23, 2019, 9:28 a.m. EDT

Just looking at it very briefly, on the coil domain setting did you intend for this to be a bundle of wires or single wire wound around a core? Homogenized multiturn is for tiny wire bundles. If that wass your intent then ok. Here is a good example to check out related to this:

https://www.comsol.com/model/multi-turn-coil-winding-around-a-ferromagnet-23641